Spanish 214 - Spanish Composition: Books

Composición: Proceso y síntesis is designed for use in the advanced Spanish composition course to help students develop the ability to perform the writing tasks that are generally expected of Spanish majors and minors. Since the publication of the first edition, instructors in this course have conveyed an increased interest in the development of functional, purposeful language skills, and the authors factored this into their revision. This fifth edition also takes into account recent findings in writing research, and owes many of its improvements to the helpful feedback from those who have used this best-selling textbook for more than twenty years.With the CourseSmart e Textbook version of this title students can save up to 50% off the cost of a print book, reduce their impact on the environment, and access powerful web tools for learning. Faculty can also review and compare the full text online without having to wait for a print desk copy. For maxiumum portability, e Textbooks can be viewed on an iPhone or iPod Touch, and they can be printed.

Emphasizing the challenges faced by nonnative Spanish speakers, How to Write in Spanish instructs Spanish learners--from advanced beginners to fluent speakers--in the conventions used in writing common Spanish-language documents, including resumes and curricula vitae; official forms and documents; college, job, and housing applications; business correspondence; personal letters; E-mail; and even greeting cards and postcards. Combining the features of a reference and workbook, it provides a sample of each type of document, vocabulary hints, a checklist for common errors, and dozens of writing exercises, selfevaluations, and correction guidelines.

This 2014 revised and updated edition is ideal for English and Spanish speakers, this bidirectional dictionary defines the core vocabularies of Latin-American Spanish and American English. This value-priced Spanish-English Dictionary, with over 50,000 translations is the best bilingual reference for students.

Since its publication in 1561, an anonymous tale of love, friendship, and chivalry has captivated readers in Spain and across Europe. "The Abencerraje" tells of the Moorish knight Abindarráez, whose plans to wed are interrupted when he is taken prisoner by Christian knights. His captor, a Spanish governor, befriends and admires the Moorish knight, ultimately releasing him to marry his beloved. Their enormously popular tale was repeated or imitated in numerous ballads and novels; when the character Don Quixote is wounded in his first sortie, he imagines himself as Abindarráez on the field. Several decades later, in the tense years leading up to the expulsion of the Moriscos from Spain, Mateo Alemán reprised themes from this romance in his novel Guzmán de Alfarache. In his version, the Moorish lady Daraja is captured by the Catholic monarchs Ferdinand and Isabel; she and her lover Ozmín are forced to engage in a variety of ruses to protect their union until they are converted to Christianity and married. Though "Ozmín and Daraja" is more elaborate in execution than "The Abencerraje," both tales show deep sympathy for their Moorish characters. Faithfully translated into modern, accessible English, these finely wrought literary artifacts offer rich imaginings of life on the Christian-Muslim frontier. Contextualized with a detailed introduction, along with contemporary legal documents, polemics, and ballads, "The Abencerraje" and "Ozmín and Daraja" reveals early modern Spain's profound fascination with the Moorish culture that was officially denounced and persecuted. By recalling the intimate and sympathetic bonds that often connected Christians to the heritage of Al-Andalus, these tales of romance and companionship offer a nuanced view of relationships across a religious divide.

Designed as a quick reference tool and an easy-to-use study guide, this inexpensive and up-to-date book offers fast, effective communications. The perfect companion for tourists and business travelers in Spain and Latin America, it features words, phrases, and sentences that cover everything from asking directions to making reservations to ordering dinner. Over 700 conveniently organized expressions include terms for modern telecommunications as well as phrases related to transportation, shopping, services, medical and emergency situations, and other common circumstances. A phonetic pronunciation accompanies each phrase.

Women poets in nineteenth-century France made important contributions to major stylistic innovations and many were prominent in their lifetime, yet only a few are known today, and nearly all have been unavailable in English translation. Of the fourteen poets in this anthology some were wealthy, others struggled in poverty; some were socially conventional, others were cynical or defiant. Their poems range widely in style and idea, from Romantic to Parnassian to symbolist.

Compiled by expert teams of Spanish and English lexicographers and boasting a two-color layout, the Oxford Spanish Dictionary provides the richest, most contemporary coverage of Spanish from around the world. The result of thorough research using sophisticated computer programs to search for new terminology and ensure that all the latest vocabulary from Latin American Spanish and American English is covered, this superb resource covers over 24 varieties of Spanish as it is written and spoken throughout the Spanish-speaking world--from Spain to Mexico, from Peru to the River Plate. The fourth edition includes more than 4,000 new words, with over 300,000 words and phrases and half a million translations in total. The dictionary provides extensive supplementary material covering business, IT, and scientific terminology, and a completely revised section on the cultures of Spanish and English-speaking countries. As in previous editions, there are thousands of sample sentences to illustrate meaning and usage, special emphasis on idioms and regional expressions, and extensive glosseries for easy identification of senses, style, levels, and more. The volume also offers more than 100 pages of helpful appendices. The Oxford Spanish Dictionary includes a free SpeakSpanish Pronunciation CD-ROM, which enables you to type in a word or phrase or even paste in text from the web, and hear it spoken back to you in perfect Spanish. A work of unprecedented scope that captures how both languages are spoken and written in all contexts--from literature to informal speech to technical writing--the Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the ideal reference for native speakers of either language. Accessible, attractively designed, and wide-ranging, this dictionary is an essential tool for all students and teachers, as well as translators and language professionals. The Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the ultimate resource and the first place to turn for answers to all Spanish-English language questions.

The World's Best Selling Verb Book-- and with good reason! Fluency in Spanish starts with knowledge of verbs--and Barron's 501 Spanish Verbs shows students and travelers exactly how to use the 501 most common and useful Spanish verbs in all 16 tenses and moods. Each verb is alphabetically listed in easy-to-follow chart form, one verb per page with its English translation. Important added features include-- Formation and usage of Spanish verb tenses and moods summarized as they relate to their English equivalents The 55 most essential Spanish verbs specially highlighted and supplemented with sample sentences and related words and expressions Progressive forms of Spanish verbs Formation of present and past participles Passive and active voice formations Principal parts of important Spanish verbs Sentences demonstrating Spanish verb usage in all tenses with English translations 26 sets of exercises in Spanish verb usage with answers explained Two-color type for ease of reference A-to-Z page edges marked in second color for quick reference to verbs Plus enlightening appendixes that cover-- Defective and impersonal verbs A guide to Spanish pronunciation Verbs used in weather expressions Verbs with prepositions An index of common irregular Spanish verb forms English-Spanish verb index List of more than 2,100 Spanish verbs! Every verb on the list is related to a model verb that's conjugated in the same way. Enclosed with each book is a brand-new CD-ROM filled with-- Sentence completion exercises Dialogue exercises Word Completion exercises Word Puzzles Matching Spanish and English phrases Unlike software enclosed with verb books from other publishers, Barron's CD-ROM concentrates exclusively on teaching verb usage that applies to reading, writing, and speaking in Spanish. The instructive and fun-to-do exercises and puzzles come with an audio option that demonstrates correct Spanish pronunciation. Barron's CD-ROM is also more adaptable than the others because you can download it on any PC® or Mac®. 501 Spanish Verbs plus CD-ROM--a great language learning program! It's an invaluable classroom supplement for students and teachers, a self-teaching guide for international travelers, and a handy reference volume for translators. Students quickly discover that learning Spanish becomes easier with this book/CD-ROM combination because it teaches verbs and verb usage systematically. In addition to the 501 verb tables, the authors have provided a wealth of additional features that will help students develop a truly comprehensive command of Spanish for speaking, reading, writing, and listening comprehension. There's a reason other publishers imitate 501 Spanish Verbs. After almost 50 years on the market, Barron's verb books are still the best! Choose the original!

Students of Introductory Spanish learn best when they are connecting--with authentic culture, with each other as a community, and with the language as used in real-world settings. Conéctate sparks the curiosity that builds these connections as students drive toward communicative and cultural confidence and proficiency. The Conéctate program's distinctive approach is built around the following principles. Focused approach: Conéctate concentrates on what Introductory Spanish students can reasonably be expected to learn, allowing for sustained engagement with the material that respects the natural process of language acquisition. An intentional focus, first on meaning and then on form, puts in action the best practices of second language pedagogy. Plus, Conéctate's reduced grammar scope leaves more time for the systematic review and recycling of vocabulary and grammar required for students to achieve mastery of first-year skills. Fortifying this process at every turn is LearnSmart(tm), a powerful, super-adaptive learning program that guides students on anindividualized path toward mastery of all the vocabulary and grammar in Conéctate. Active learning: Conéctate gives students the opportunity to explore language and culture through interactive activities that keep them focused and engaged. Vocabulary and grammar in Conéctate are taught using an active learning approach, nudging students to discover new vocabulary and language rules through a carefully balanced mix of inductive and explicit presentations and hands-on learning. Students are similarly asked to take an active role in an immersive online game, Practice Spanish: Study Abroad, designed around a study abroad experience in which they leverage their language and cultural skills to accomplish tasks and solve problems in various real-world scenarios. Integration of culture: Building on the active learning theme, students develop and apply critical thinking skills as they draw personal conclusions about the rich culture presented throughout Conéctate. Culture is embedded within the language activities themselves, included in notes that expand on the activity at hand, and seen through the integrated video that forms the basis for many activities in each chapter of the text. This authentic, unscripted video introduces students to useful chunks of language, real-world Spanish, and a wide range of topics related to cultural themes. Conéctate's stunning video was shot in Spain, Panama, Miami, Argentina, Costa Rica, and Mexico, and exposes students to a wide variety of people in each country who discuss topics that are familiar and engaging to students. Mobile Tools for Digital Success: The digital tools available in the Connect Spanishplatform with Conéctate also successfully promote student progress by providing extensive opportunities to practice and hone their developing skills. These learningopportunities include online communicative activities, instant feedback, peerediting, sophisticated reporting, an immersive game, and an interactive eBook with embedded video and audio. The mobile-friendly platform allows students to engage in the course material anytime and everywhere. Connect is the only integrated learning system that empowers students by continuously adapting to deliver precisely what they need, when they need it, and how they need it, so that your class time is more engaging and effective. *Connect Spanish, including but not limited to the workbook/lab manual, LearnSmart, Practice Spanish: Study Abroad, the video program, and chat tools, is sold separately and does not come automatically with the purchase of the textbook.

Spanish literature has given the world the figures of Don Quixote and Don Juan, and is responsible for the 'invention' of the novel in the 16th century. The medieval period produced literature in Castilian, Catalan, Galician, Latin, Arabic, and Hebrew, and today there is a flourishingliterature in Catalan, Galician, and Basque as well as in Castilian-the language that has became known as 'Spanish'. A multilayered history of exile has produced a transnational literary production, while writers in Spain have engaged with European cultural trends.This Very Short Introduction explores this rich literary history, which resonates with contemporary debates on transnationalism and cultural diversity. The book introduces a general readership to the ways in which Spanish literature has been read, in and outside Spain, explaining misconceptions,outlining the insights of recent scholarship and suggesting new readings. It highlights the precocious modernity of much early modern Spanish literature, and shows how the gap between modern ideas and social reality stimulated creative literary responses in subsequent periods; as well as howcontemporary writers have adjusted to Spain's recent accelerated modernization.

A Reference Grammar of Spanish is a comprehensive handbook on the structure of the Spanish language. Keeping technical terminology to a minimum, it provides a detailed yet clear point of reference on all the intricacies of Spanish grammar, covering word order, parts of speech, verb use, syntax, gender, number, alphabet, and pronunciation. Accompanied by a wealth of carefully chosen examples, it looks at Spanish in Iberia, the USA, Mexico, and Argentina, and demonstrates the differences between these varieties. It is designed specifically with English-speaking learners in mind, and contains useful tools such as a glossary of terms, an index, and a detailed examination of different registers of the language. Clearly structured and systematically organised, this volume is set to become the standard guide to the grammar of contemporary Spanish, and will be an invaluable resource for teachers and students, as well as a practical supplement to textbooks and classroom study.

This new edition of the bestselling Modern Spanish Grammar: A Practical Guide is an innovative reference guide to Spanish, combining traditional and function-based grammar in a single volume. The Grammar is divided into two parts. Part A covers traditional grammatical categories such as word order, nouns, verbs and adjectives. Part B is carefully organized around language functions and notions such as: * Giving and seeking information * Putting actions into context * Expressing likes, dislikes and preferences With a strong emphasis on contemporary usage, all grammar points and functions are richly illustrated with examples. Implementing feedback from users of the first edition of the grammar, this second edition now features: * More functional items * Clearer explanations and more accessible descriptors * Greater emphasis on areas of particular difficulty for learners of Spanish, such as tense usage, ser and estar and the reflective. This is the ideal reference grammar for learners of Spanish at all levels, from elementary to advanced. No prior knowledge of grammatical terminology is assumed and a glossary of grammatical terms is provided.

This extensive Spanish language reference explains the logic behind more than 3,000 frequently used verb phrases and combinations that make Spanish speech sound native. Each entry includes a definition of the phrase including its register, synonyms, antonyms, complementary expressions, grammatical patterns, and examples of how the combinations are used in easy and difficult structures. Most entries also point out other factors to be taken into account, such as whether an expression is to be used in isolation, after explaining a cause, or if it shouldn't be used at the beginning of a sentence. The book presents generative patterns for combinations based on conceptual metaphors and grammar structures, details families of expressions as separate charts, and contains an index by complement. Featuring a wide range of varieties of Spanish, this volume includes both peninsular and New World Spanish and draws on both written and spoken corpora. Based on sound research in cognitive linguistics and written entirely in Spanish, this valuable reference will be useful to advanced students of Spanish, teachers of Spanish, translators, and writers.

BarCharts' best-selling Spanish Grammar guide has been updated and expanded! Learn the basics of Spanish grammar in our easily accessible format. Covering everything from rules of stress to the various verb categories and conjugations, this handy reference guide will help you master the hard-to-remember rules of Spanish grammar. This new edition features an additional panel of information, including more examples for easy comprehension.

A Student Grammar of Spanish, first published in 2006, is a concise introduction to Spanish grammar, designed for English-speaking undergraduates. Assuming no prior knowledge of grammatical terminology, it explains each aspect of Spanish grammar in clear and simple terms, provides a wealth of glossed examples to illustrate them, and helps students to put their learning into practice through a range of fun and engaging exercises. Clearly organized into thirty units, each covering a different aspect of the grammar, the book functions both as an essential reference guide and a comprehensive workbook. Individual topics can be looked up via a user-friendly cross-referencing system, and concise definitions are provided in a useful glossary of grammatical terms. The exercises, which include paired and group activities, are suitable for both classroom use and self-study. Each unit is split into two levels, basic and intermediate, making this grammar the perfect accompaniment to any first or second year undergraduate course.

Esta obra, desde el título, exhibe la naturaleza teórica que lo sustenta. Ni solo el significado, como mera intuición, ni la gramática per se, como un conjunto de reglas carentes de sustancia. Sí, en cambio, su articulación regulaa con la finalidad de dar soporte sensible al recurso que, en última instancia, conduce a la meta reconocida de la lengua y su uso: la comunicación.

Praise for Victor Hernández Cruz: "Bilingual since childhood, Mr. Cruz writes poems about his native Puerto Rico and elsewhere which often speak to us with a forked tongue, sometimes in a highly literate Spanglish. . . . He's a funny, hard-edged poet, declining always into mother wit and pathos." --The New York Times Book Review "A fluent sensualist and rhythmic stylist." --The Washington Post "Like a salsa band leader coaxing and challenging dancers to more and more complex steps, Cruz dares readers with dizzying polyrhythms, polymetric stanzas, backstepping word structures and a sense of improvisation." --Publishers Weekly Beneath the Spanishtracks the way that languages intersect and inform each other, and how language and music shapes experience. Moving across landscapes from Puerto Rico to Manhattan to Morocco, these poems are one man's history and a song that begs to be performed. From "Ay Bendito, Que Vaina": Cuneiform tablet inside, The maracas pencil orality of remembered places, the night stars, the hammock, yucayeques like beehives, a river crab came to my feet to talk with its mouth legs, trembling like castanets. Victor Hernández Cruzis the author of several collections of poetry including, most recently,The Mountain in the SeaandIn the Shadow of Al-Andalus. Featured in Bill Moyers's Language of Life series, Cruz's collection,Maraca, was a finalist for the Lenore Marshall and Griffin Poetry Prizes. He divides his time between Morocco and his native Puerto Rico.

Spanish Novelists is a single-volume monograph that contains selected essays from Critical Survey of Long Fiction, Fourth Edition. Every article in this set was carefully selected by our editors to provide the best information available about the topic covered. The essays inSpanish Novelists discuss such influential writers as Juan Benet, José Camilo Cela, Miguel Delibes, and Miguel de Cervantes.

Spanish Poets is a single-volume reference that contains selected essays from Critical Survey of Poetry, Fourth Edition. Every article in this set was carefully selected by our editors to provide the best information available about the topic covered. The essays in Spanish Poets discuss such influential poets as Rafael Alberti, Jorge Manrique, Pedro Salinas, and Cesar Vallejo.

Spanish is one of the most widely spoken languages in the world. But the modern version one hears or sees from Madrid to Montevideo, or from Sevila to San Salvador has evolved out of Old Spanish, the colloquial form of Latin spoken on the Iberian peninsula. Old Spanish developed its own literature, among the most famous works being El Cid, a poem composed in the late twelfth or early thirteenth century. In this book, Tatiana Fotitch compiles some of the most fascinating Spanish-language texts from the late-ninth or early tenth century through to the fifteenth century. The selections are specifically aimed to garner the interests of students as they begin the study of Old Spanish, and hence covers a wide variety of different types of material. The anthology includes examples of Mozarabic poetry; the twelfth century Auto de los Reyes Magos and Cantar de Mio Çid; as well as the thirteenth century Roncesvalles, which tells of how Charlemagne, after the battle, mourns his chieftains. Fotitch also includes Gonzalo de Berceo's Milagros de Nuestra Señora and several works by Alfonso the Wise, including his Libro de las partidas. Fotitch also includes the famous poem El Libro de Buen Amor as well as the playful set of fables known as El Libro de los Gatos.