Skip to Main Content

Accessing Library Resources Online: On-Campus and Off-Campus via OpenAthens

This guide will provide users with information on how to access the library's online resources, while on campus or off campus.

Merging Accounts and Personalization

Personalization and Merging Accounts

Some of the digital resource collections/databases available through Ross Library allow users to personalize their experience through the creation of personal accounts. These personalization features may vary from database to database. Common personalization features include:

  • Saving searches (search terms, filters, etc.)
  • Saving search results 
  • Annotating sources
  • Recommendations based on search history

Personalization requires users to create a personal account and to allow databases to save their browsing/search histories. 

With the implementation of OpenAthens, to save personalized data that was captured by older database accounts, users will need to merge their older accounts into their new accounts created through OpenAthens.  Below are instructions for merging specific accounts.

EBSCO & OpenAthens

EBSCO and OpenAthens

In order to access EBSCO databases using OpenAthens, you must consent to EBSCO's Personal Data Retention and Usage policy.

The first time you log into EBSCO through OpenAthens, a unique OpenAthens numeric identifier tied to your Cottey login is passed to EBSCO. This is used to create a new My Ebscohost account linked to your login.

My Ebscohost personal accounts allow you to save search results and search strategies, plus more. You do not need to add any personal information to your My Ebscohost personal account; the unique OpenAthens identifier is all that is needed to access EBSCO digital content.

Add Name and Email Address to EBSCO personal account

This is optional. After connecting through OpenAthens, click the Sign in or Update My Account link in the upper right corner in any EBSCO database.  You can then add your name and email address to your account. EBSCO and Connelly Library do not share this information.

Merge Ebscohost Accounts

If you created an EBSCO account before OpenAthens was implemented and would like to move all saved items from the older account into your new account, EBSCO allows you to merge those accounts. 

To merge accounts:

  1. Click Update My Account in the upper right corner of the screen and look for the option to Merge Accounts.
  2. Click the Get Started button.
  3. Log in with the username and password for your previously-created account.
  4. Follow the prompts to merge the older account into your new My Ebscohost account.
  5. You will receive an email confirmation once the account merge is complete.

For more information about EBSCO and user data, see its privacy policy.